We never post opportunities that require a submission fee. LEARN MORE.

Saturday, December 16, 2023

Relentless Award 2024


Deadline:  December 20, 2023 11:59 PM


The Relentless Award, established in honor of Philip Seymour Hoffman and his pursuit of truth in the theater, is the largest annual cash prize in American theater awarded to a playwright in recognition of a new play.

Eligibility/Criteria for Submission:
  • Play must be unproduced.
  • Author(s) must have either United States citizenship, possess a green card, or currently reside in the United States and have lived here for at least four years.
  • Plays with a producer, producing organization, or theater attached for future production are not eligible.
  • One-act plays, musicals and plays for children are not eligible.
  • The author(s) must be at least 21 years old at time of submission. 

*Please note: the Relentless Award uses a blind submissions process(the names and identifying details about the authors are hidden from the judges.) 

It is imperative that all submitting writers create a draft of their submission with all identifying information (name, contact information, representation information if applicable, development history, any identity-describing author's note/dedication) redacted.

Failure to do so may disqualify your script and render it ineligible for consideration.

**Please note: our submission window will close automatically Dec 20, 2023 11:59 PM and no late submissions will be accepted. Due to Submittable's 48 hour turn around time for user inquiries, we strongly urge you to allow yourself ample time before the deadline, in case of any technological or other difficulties.

***Please see our FAQ here for more information. We highly recommend reading the FAQ before submitting, as some of the details provided are relevant to the eligibility of your submission.

Blog Archive