We never post opportunities that require a submission fee. LEARN MORE.

Wednesday, December 20, 2023

The Robert J. Pickering / J.R. Colbeck Award for Playwriting Excellence 2024


Deadline: December 31, 2023

This annual award was established to honor past member and playwright, Bob Pickering, and to provide a vehicle for playwrights to see their works produced. In 2020, the award was renamed to also honor longtime BCCT member and Pickering director, J.R. Colbeck. $200 is awarded for first place, $50 for second place and $25 for third place.

Manuscripts must be received by December 31st each year.

Types of Plays Accepted

Full length, unproduced plays and musicals. Children's plays are accepted. We are unable to return without a self-addressed stamped envelope.

Selection Process

BCCT committee members read and review each entry and select ten finalists from which the first, second, and third place winners are chosen by the membership at large.


BCCT reserves the right and agrees to produce the first place winner in this yearly competition. First place winners are required to sign a production contract.

Production House

BCCT productions are staged in the historic Tibbits Opera House in Coldwater, Michigan. Built in 1882, Tibbits is a completely restored 500-seat proscenium theater.

How to Submit

BCCT does not accept digital submissions. Send hard-copy submissions to:

Branch County Community Theatre
14 S. Hanchett St.
Coldwater, MI 49036

Blog Archive