We never post opportunities that require a submission fee. LEARN MORE.

Monday, October 6, 2014

Ensemble Studio Theatre Marathon - one act plays

web site

EST has presented the Marathon, its celebrated festival of new one-act plays, for over 30 years. It is the longest-running, most celebrated one-act play festival in the country. Playwrights presented include David Auburn*, Leslie Ayvazian*, Horton Foote*, Tina Howe*, Shirley Lauro*, Romulus Linney*, David Mamet*, Cassandra Medley*, Jacquelyn Reingold*, José Rivera*, Cori Thomas,* and John Patrick Shanley*, among many others.

2015 Marathon Play Submission Guidelines:

EST will be accepting submissions for the 2015 Marathon of One Act Plays from September 1st – October 15th 2014

Non-member playwrights may submit a single script, no longer than 40 pages, which has not been reviewed in New York. 

We prefer email submissions, which can be sent to literary@ensemblestudiotheatre.org. Please include your name and contact information in the body of your email but send the script without identifying information. We will notify all applicants of decisions no later than April of 2015.​

Because EST did not present a Marathon of One Act Plays in 2014, ALL submissions from 2014 were rolled over into 2015. If you submitted in 2014 you do not need to do anything to have your script considered - it will automatically be reviewed by the Marathon readers. However, if you would like to update your submission (either with a revision of your prior submission, or by withdrawing your 2014 submission and replacing it with a new script) you may do so until October 15th 2014 by sending the updated file to:

Blog Archive