We never post opportunities that require a submission fee. LEARN MORE.

Tuesday, October 21, 2014

2015 Prize for Women Playwrights

web site

WE ARE NOW ACCEPTING SUBMISSIONS for the 2015 Prize for Women Playwrights at this link.

The last day to submit is November 1, 2014.

The Kentucky Women Writers Conference awards a biennial Prize for Women Playwrights to bring more scripts by women to the stage, through a collaboration among our program, a partnering theater, and a guest judge. The winner receives a world premier production for a paying audience plus a cash prize of $500, and the winning script will be workshopped prior to its production. If you would like to receive our bi-monthly listserv with updates about this contest and our other programming, please send your request to kentuckywomenwriters@gmail.com.
Partnering Theater

Actors Guild of Lexington will produce the winning script as the final play in its 2014-15 season. Learn more about Actors Guild here.

Guest Judge

Playwright Carson Kreitzer will select a winner from approximately 5 finalists.
Eligible Playwrights

The competition is open to all women playwrights. There are no restrictions on age, residence or experience. Co-authored scripts are eligible if at least 50 percent of co-authors are female.

Eligible Plays

One-act or full-length scripts in English, with a running time between 45 and 90 minutes, that have not been published or commercially produced as of the entry deadline and will not be published or produced before the release of the KWWC production. However, scripts that have been staged in a workshop production or script-in-hand staged readings are eligible.

Deadline and Timeline
Entries must be electronically submitted by November 1, 2014
Winner will be posted on our Web site by February 20, 2015
Winning script will be workshopped in March or April 2015
Production will occur in May or June 2015
$500 cash prize

Subject Matter, Casting, and Production Limitations

We are seeking new plays that can be produced as world premieres. We place no limitations on subject matter. Scripts may be based on factual events, purely fictional, or adaptations. We are not seeking musicals or children's plays. 

  • Reading time must be in the range of 45-90 minutes.
  • Casts must be limited to 8 actors (1 actor may play multiple roles).
The production will be in a small black box theater. Set, lighting, sound, costume, and prop requirements should be kept to a minimum.

Judging Process and Criteria

All entries will be screened by KWWC staff for completeness and adherence to contest guidelines. Judging will consist of two rounds. In round 1, a diverse panel of theater professionals and educators will choose 5-10 finalists. In round 2 our guest judge, Carson Kreitzer, will choose 1 winner. Judging will be guided by literary merit and theatrical potential.

Past Winners & Guest Judges

Naomi Wallace was our first judge in 2011 and chose Keliher Walsh’s play, Year of the Rabbit, produced by Balagula Theatre in Lexington. Kia Corthron was our next judge in 2013 and chose Jo Morello’s E.G.O.: The Passions of Eugene Gladstone O’Neill, also produced by Balagula.

Blog Archive