We never post opportunities that require a submission fee. LEARN MORE.

Friday, February 3, 2023

ThinkingFunny23 is seeking playscripts for broadcast


Deadline: March 17, 2023
Due to the number of submissions they are closing their submission window early - do not send

The script may be in any genre, mystery, horror, adventure, western, etc., but the overall tone must be humorous/comedic and it must be in English.

Script entries must run, reading time, between 10 to 25 minutes. Please include word count. The script should have between two to eight characters, including any narrator. Sound effects should be denoted as a part of the script. 

Material must be suitable for public broadcast, and entries will be considered for performance and broadcast on KKRN’s “Scratched Up Radio Theater.”

There is NO entry fee for this contest. Entrants can submit more than one script and scripts may have multiple playwrights. In the case of multiple authorship, the entry must have permission of ALL playwrights to be entered and, possibly, be used as described herein.

Cash prize of $100 will be awarded to the winning entry and may, at the station’s discretion and availability of air-time, include on-air broadcast and post-broadcast internet streaming. Honorable mentions of $25 may also be awarded at the judges’ discretion.

Submission of your script(s) indicate permission, on behalf of all playwrights that created the work, for KKRN to cast, produce, and reserves the non-exclusive right to broadcast the entry and leave a copy available of this broadcast (not the script itself) available for future download. If selected for performance and broadcast, KKRN will include full recognition of the creators and feature brief bio(s) of all playwrights. This is a non-exclusive grant and does not bar the playwrights from later use of their work.

All entries must be received no later than March 17th, 2023 at midnight Pacific Time.

An excerpt of the winning entry will be shared at the ThinkingFunny23 after-party on April 1, 2023. Free admission to this after-party will be provided to all playwrights who won.

Blog Archive