We never post opportunities that require a submission fee. LEARN MORE.

Saturday, September 2, 2023

The 2023 Relentless Award Ten Minute "Picket Plays"


Deadline: September 6, 2023 12:00 AM


The American Playwriting Foundation is accepting applications for The 2023 “Picket Plays,” a Ten Minute Play Award created to support WGA writers who are unable to work due to the current strike.

Six ten minute plays will be chosen by our selection committee, and each winning writer will be awarded $10,000. The winning plays will be performed at Theatre Row by a company of Relentless actors, who may include Wayne Brady, Billy Crudup, Vincent D’Onofrio, Gina Gershon, Walton Goggins, Ethan Hawke, Natasha Lyonne, Sam Rockwell, Daphne Rubin-Vega, Liev Schreiber, Yul Vazquez, and others. Additionally, five finalist plays will be selected and awarded $1000 each.

Submissions to The Relentless Picket Plays should be written specifically for this opportunity, addressing the theme “Picketing/Striking.” 

The Relentless Ten Minute Play Awards will celebrate works that: 
  • Speak to the current moment 
  • Exhibit fearlessness. 
  • Exude passion. 

Our criteria for submission casts a wide net of eligibility, and we encourage submissions from writers of all identities. Our goal is to foster the creation of new work for the theater while work for television and film is halted, and to recognize and support people whose voices have been historically under- or unrepresented.

Eligibility/Criteria for Submission 
  • Only short plays (ten minutes running time, no more than 15 pages) are eligible for the 2023 Relentless Award Ten Minute Play Awards. 
  • The works must be unproduced, unpublished, and cannot have had a previous professional production or a current production commitment.
  • Submitting writers must be current members of the Writers Guild of America. 
  • Each writer may submit one play only. 
  • Co-written submissions by more than two authors are ineligible. 
  • Musicals are ineligible. 
  • Applications are limited to pieces by writers with United States citizenship, those who possess or are in the process of obtaining a green card, those with student, immigrant, or work visas for the United States, or anyone who currently resides in the United States and has lived here for at least four (4) years. 
  • Writers must be at least 18 years old*.​​ ​(*except in NE and AL where writers must be 19 years old, and MS where writers must be 21 years old) 
  • Works may be based on underlying material, in which case proof of authorization or right to adapt the underlying material must be uploaded with the application if it is not in the public domain. 
  • Plays considered to be “Theater for a Young Audience” are ineligible. 

Please contact aodonoghue@bfany.org with any eligibility, submission, or other questions.

We look forward to reading your work.

Blog Archive