We never post opportunities that require a submission fee. LEARN MORE.

Friday, September 16, 2011

NY Times Outstanding Playwright Award

web site

SYLVIANE GOLD chairs the committee that judges the NY Times outstanding playwright award, which is going into its fourth year. The prize is $5000 and a nice celebratory event at the Times Center and is awarded for a debut playwright in NY.

Last year’s winner was KRISTOFFER DIAZ, for The Elaborate Entrance of Chad Deity. The committee includes: SCOTT HELLER and ANDREA STEVENS from the paper, and EDWARD ALBEE, JAMES LAPINE, LYNN NOTTAGE and RICHARD GREENBERG.

If you have a play that you feel is eligible, please send the script to Edward Bohan at the NY Times: bohane@nytimes.com

The criteria is:
1. Plays only, no musicals.

2. American playwrights only (they don’t have to be American citizens, but they have to be living and working in the US).

3. NY debuts only -- the play must be the writer’s first full-scale NY production, selling tickets to the public and open to critics (they don’t count festival productions, workshops, etc.).

Contact for questions: Sylviane Gold, dancerevu@aol.com

Blog Archive