We never post opportunities that require a submission fee. LEARN MORE.

Monday, December 31, 2018

NYSCA/NYFA Artist Fellowship 2018/2019 Application Guidelines

web site

Application Deadline: January 23, 2019 11:59 PM EST
Established in 1971 as an independent organization to serve individual artists throughout the state, the mission of New York Foundation for the Arts (NYFA) is to empower emerging artists and arts organizations across all disciplines at critical stages in their creative lives and professional development. NYFA serves individual artists through providing financial and informational assistance across four flagship programs: Fiscal Sponsorship, NYFA Learning, Online Resources, and Awards and Grants.

For over 30 years, in partnership with New York State Council on the Arts, the New York Foundation for the Arts has awarded Artist Fellowships of $7,000 to individual originating artists living and working in New York State and/or Indian Nations located therein for unrestricted use. The Fellowship award accepts submissions in 15 different disciplines, with 5 disciplines reviewed each year on a rotating three-year cycle. NYSCA/NYFA Artist Fellowships are awarded to eligible artists of all career levels regardless of their gender, ethnicity, sexuality, ability/disability, financial standing, or geographic location.

NYFA is committed to supporting artists from diverse cultural backgrounds throughout the state at all stages of their professional careers. In 2018, NYSCA/NYFA awarded 89 Fellowships, totaling an amount of $623,000.

Award Summary
● Unrestricted $7,000 awards
● Awarded to individual originating artists, living in New York State 2+ years, 25+ years old
● NYSCA/NYFA Artist Fellowships are not project grants
● Applications are reviewed ​anonymously​ in the preliminary panel review rounds
● Peer-Reviewed panels
● Free to apply

Eligibility Requirements

  • Applicants must meet all of the following requirements ​by the application deadline​:
  • 25 years old or older
  • Current residents of New York State and/or one of the Indian Nations located in New
  • York State
  • Must have maintained New York State residency, and/or residency in one of the Indian
  • Nations located therein, for at least the last two consecutive years (2017 & 2018)
  • Cannot be enrolled in a degree-seeking program of any kind
  • Are the originators of the work, i.e. choreographers or playwrights; ​not awarded to
  • interpretative artists such as dancers or actors
  • Did not receive a NYSCA/NYFA Artist Fellowship in any discipline in the past five consecutive years; 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, & 2018
  • Cannot submit any work samples that have been previously awarded a NYSCA/NYFA Artist Fellowship
  • Are not a NYFA employee, a member of the NYFA Board of Trustees or Artists' Advisory Committee, immediate family member of any of the above, or an immediate family member of a 2018-2019 panelist
  • Artists that have been awarded five NYSCA/NYFA Artist Fellowships receive Emeritus status and are no longer eligible for the award.


Blog Archive